Make your own free website on

The Democratic Republic of Congo

Current Government

Home | Some Facts | History | African Interest | Current Government | Elections 2005 | Parties & Leaders | New Government | Endangered Wildlife | Ethnic Tribes | Natural Resources | Links & Books | Contact Me


Current Government 

The transitional government set up on June 30 2003 for 24 months with the right to prolongation of 6 months, to lead the country out of nearly five years of war to democratic elections in June 2005 compromises of the president, four vice-presidents, 36 ministers and 25 deputy ministers from the previous administration, the rebel groups, the pro-government Mai Mai militia, the unarmed political opposition and civil society. The bigger and best known democratic parties of the political opposition such as UPDS, PALU, PDSC and MNC/L were not allowed to participate in the transitional government.

A new National Assembly is made up of 500 members of the numerous parties to the Inter-Congolese Dialogue, namely the former government, the unarmed political opposition, civil society and former rebel groups. The Senate is made up of 120 members from the various parties to the national power-sharing accord.

For each of the 11 provinces there is a governor. President Kabila's party PPRD obtained 3 provinces (Kinshasa, Bas-Congo, and Western Kasai); the RCD-G movement captured 2 (North-Kivu and Province Orientale) while the MLC (Bandundu), RCD-N (Eastern Kasai), RCD-K-ML (Maniema), Mai Mai (Katanga) and Civil Society (Equateur) each took control of one province.

President Joseph Kabila’s party is PPRD (Parti du Peuple pour la Reconstruction et le Developpement). Main opposition parties include FDF (Forces du Futur), FONUS (Forces Novatrices pour l'Union et la Solidarite), MSDD (Mouvement Social Democratie et Developpement), MPR-FP (Mouvement Populaire de la Revolution-Fait Prive) and UNAFEC (Union des Nationalistes et des Federalistes Congolais). Former rebel groups-turned-political parties include the RDC (Rassemblement Congolais pour la Democratie), MLC (Mouvement pour la Liberation du Congo) and independent splinter groups of the RCD (RCD-K-ML, RCD-N and RCD-Goma). Not included in the government are the political opposition parties UDPS (Union pour la Democratie et le Progres Social), PDSC (Parti Democrate Social Chretien) PALU (Parti Lumumbiste Unifié) and MNC/L (Mouvement National Congolais/ Lumumba).   

I will soon add the political parties to all the politicians below.


President - Joseph Kabila (appointed President in January 2001, PPRD)






Vice President - Arthur Z’ahidi Ngoma (political opposition)

Vice President - Jean-Pierre Bemba (leader of MLC)

Vice President - Abdoulaye Yerodia Ndombasi (former government)

Vice President - Azarias Ruberwa (leader of RCD-Goma)


Agriculture - Velentin Nsenga (MLC)

Budget - François Mwamba Tshishimbi (MLC)

Culture and Arts - Christophe Muzungu (former government)

Defense, Demobilization & War Veterans Affairs - Jean Pierre Ondekane (RCD-Goma)

Economy - Emile Ngoy Kasongo (RCD-Goma) 

Energy - Kalema Losona (former government)

Education (Primary, Secondary and Professional) - Constant Ndom Nda Ombel (MLC)

Education (Superior and University) - Joseph Mudumbi (RCD-Goma)

Environment - Anselme Enerunga (Mai-Mai)

Executive Secretary of the Government - Georgette Bokanya (MLC)

Finance - Pierre André Futa (former government)

Foreign Affairs & Internal Communication - Raymond Ramazani Baya (MLC)

Foreign Trade - Roger Lumbala (leader of RCD-N)

Industry, Small & Medium Enterprises - Jean Mbuyu Lunyongola (MLC)

Interior , Decentralization & Security - Théophile Mbemba Fundu (former government)

Justice - Honorius Ksimba Ngoy Ndalawe (political opposition)

Human Rights - Marie-Madeleine Kalala Ngoy (civil society)

Land Affairs - Venant Tshipasa (political opposition)

Labor & Social Security - Jean-Pierre Lola Kisanga (RCD-Goma)

Mines - Eugène Diomi Ndongala (political opposition)

Planning and Reconstruction - Alexis Thambwe-Mwamba (MLC)

Portofolio - Célestin Vunabandi (RCD-Goma)

PTT (Post and Telecommunication) - Getrude Kitembo (RCD-Goma)

Public Affairs - Athanase Matendu Kyelu (civil society)

Public Health - Anastasie Moleko Moliwa (former government)

Public Works and Infrastructure: José Endundo Bononge (MLC)

Press and Information - Henri Mova Sakanyi (former government)

Regional Cooperation - Mbusa Nyanmwisi (leader of RCD-K-ML)

Rural Development - Kaliba Munanga (Mai-Mai)

Scientific Research: Gérald Kamanda Wa Kamanda (political opposition)

Social Affairs: Ingele Ifoto (policital opposition)

Solidarity and Human Affairs - Cartherine Nzuni wa Mdombo (policital opposition)

Sport and Youth - Omer Egbake (MLC)

Tourism - José Engwanda (RCD-N)

Transport and Communication - Joseph Olenghankoy (political opposition)

Urban Affairs and Housing - John Tibasima (RCD-K-ML)

Women and Family Affairs - Faida Mwangillwa (RCD-Goma)

Note: status end October/beginning November 2004

Horizontal Divider 28